welcome message from paula

Hi and welcome to tiip, the ‘tag‘ for Thinking Practices, the module for the MA in Art and Media Practices at the University of Westminster.

I’m paula and i will be facilitating this 12 week module, in which we will be focusing on what are the critical dialogues surrounding contemporary media and art practices.

For this module we will be working in a format known as “blended learning“. This means we will be exploring different types of activities, both face to face and online. We will be enjoying all the resources available in the media lab and in the learning centre/ library at large. And we will be also working in the internet, using the resources available online.

Some of you may be working together online for the first time, so to make it more enjoyable, it is really important that we re-introduce ourselves in this new environment.

To get us started, I will say a few words about myself.

I ‘m an artist and lecturer and in addition to teaching at the University of Westminster, I am mostly based at the London South Bank University, where I lecture on the BA (Hons) Digital Photography and we are currently developing projects around self-publishing, artists books and photobooks. You can read more about it here.

I keep blogs for all my teaching projects, and you can look at some of these here
http://www.msdm.org.uk/about/teaching/

I also keep a blog for my art projects, where i combine elements of installation and networked art in response to site-specific situations, and you can read about it here
http://www.msdm.org.uk/projects/

But enough of me! Its your turn now 🙂
Please follow e-tivity 01 post to find out what to do!

I look forward to reading your first posts.
paula

About paula roush

I am a Lisbon-born artist based in London, UK. I am the founder of msdm, a platform for art practices that are mobile-strategies-[of]-display-[and]- mediation. It is a platform for both individual and collaborative work, shown in the context of exhibitions, publications, conferences and teaching/seminars. I work with photography, archives, found material and performance through editing strategies that investigate notions of authorship, authenticity, history and memory. I am interested in publishing as artists’ practice and as platform to explore the intersections between the roles of artist, editor and curator. My current projects look at ideas of (re) production in the work of art, resulting in publications in several formats that encompass the hand-made, the print on demand and the ebook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to welcome message from paula

  1. Matthew Ferguson says:

    Right then… I am back in the Cyber. Hungry for interaction with people I don’t know, judging me through the space of the infinite web. Also, with all this constant chat, people can see what I’m writing . If you could see my face whilst I write this… which is what I like to study, in a way, human-computer interaction/entanglement. How does it work existentially, metaphysically, etc? Or maybe I should put ‘human-media interaction?’ Or maybe it’s the other way round ‘media-human interaction?’ Or ‘human-media-human?’ Anyway that is part of the interests I have.

    So anyway, I like to exploit these ideas of philosophy through installation, and sound… but at the moment I have decided to move over to video and video installation.
    I hope to find some pictures of some work soon, but working in sound its a little hard to send a visual. Shall email an old friend, see if he has any.

    Matthew Ferguson
    ***Fergie***

Leave a Reply

