E-tivity 06 Performativity and Daily Life

Theory.org.uk is OK if you want a quick rundown of the philosophers and academics in the world of critical theory, media and arts. I found the trading cards interesting although I was expecting to look at the flip side but to no avail. I looked at the bell hooks one but it didn’t say much, what did stand out is that her weakness is ‘she dared to criticise Madonna’??? Maybe they are trying to make the website into a sort of an intro to Media Studies for Idiots. In my opinion it is a promotional website for David Gauntlett. If you want more info then you can buy the book, the cards, the t-shirt etc…. I was a bit puzzled when I read this sentence Academics have found it difficult to establish what identity means, so that at times it has been reduced to a set of categories such as gender, ethnicity, and physical ability (each of which becomes more fuzzy itself, when inspected closely). ‘ Please inspect the text in bold. What does it mean??

Anyway my contribution to performativity in daily life-I don’t know if this is relevant but I once filmed myself working in my studio. I was told by friends that in there view I was becoming a bit OCD about a piece I was working on that involved ripping bits of material and knotting them together onto a a framework to form a web. I decided to film the process for myself. Watching myself work was eye-opening, I suppose I wasn’t expecting to see myself obsess over an artwork in that way. A few days later I was burgled and the camera, tape and all were lost forever. Ironically the work ended up in a skip- but I didn’t get to film that-no camera!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to E-tivity 06 Performativity and Daily Life

  1. wairere says:

    Kia ora from New Zealand,

    I just found your blogsite through my Google Alerts for Critical Theory and Critical Pedagogy. I think that you may enjoy my own website – which you are free to use as a resource. There are specific (free) down-loadable papers in there that deal directly with the obtuseness pf critical language. It covers issues such as:

    Critical Theory
    Critical Theorists
    Critical Practice (Praxis)
    Critical Pedagogy
    Critical Education Theory
    Colonisation
    Postcolonialism
    Postmodernism
    Indigenous Studies
    Critical Psychology
    Cultural Studies
    Critical Aesthetics
    Hegemony,
    Academic Programme Development
    Sustainable Design
    Critical Design etc. etc.

    The website at: http://www.TonyWardEdu.com contains more than 60 (absolutely free) downloadable and fully illustrated PDFs on all of these topics and more offered to students from the primer level, up to PhD. It also has a set of extensive bibliographies and related web links in all of these areas.

    Have a look at it and perhaps bring it to the attention of your friends and colleagues for them to use as a resource.

    There is no catch!

    It’s just that I an retired and want to pass on the knowledge and experience acquired in 40 years of University teaching. All that I ask in return, is that you and they let me know what you think about the website and cite me for any material that may be downloaded and/or used.

    I would also appreciate a link to my site from your own so that others may come to know about it and use it.

    Many thanks and best wishes

    Dr. Tony Ward Dip.Arch. (Birm)
    Academic Programme, Tertiary Education and Sustainable Design Consultant

    (Ph) (07) 307 2245
    (m) 027 22 66 563
    (e) tonyward.transform@xtra.co.nz

  2. isabellahargrave says:

    Isnt performatism in daily life why Big Brother is so addictive? You filmed yourself but your viewing of it would be different from a stranger viewing it. The emotional removal allows different things to be seen. I guess the removal does happen over time with images of oneself, when i look at the very few photographs I have of myself I dont look as bad as I thought I did but I couldnt bear to watch myself on film. Like you I didnt like the sight but thought the cards were a good way to index subject matter but the links needed to be active and the information more extensive.

  3. Deference says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Deference.

Leave a Reply

