I don’t believe we believe the Simulationsof contemporary Hyperrealities and other such constructions

In terms of this sites organisation, despite enjoying the void of relative words floating in a virtual space, and playing with them for quite a while, I was initially confused as I thought they where links to new articles as opposed to a thesaurus/glossary of relative words. So although fun, I found it a little distracting from the point and slightly gimmicky, I also think it would be little use to a person actually looking for useful links/inspiration etc. on the title subject. I’d stick to the old fashioned get a thesaurus in physical book form, and read it.

In terms of presentation as research, I think its slightly simplistic and would be perhaps more useful for younger ages, e.g. as an interactive word association game for school children studying English or Media. But perhaps I’m just being harsh?

Content and it relevance to us!

Straight away the concept of simulation is relevant to me in a big way, The society of the Spectacle is a simulated reality. Not strictly a simulation, because a simulation isn’t real, it’s a test, a prototype of a given situation. The Spectacle is a simulation that cemented itself. One could see it as a capitalist/consumerist test which excelled its expectation outgrew its restriction and made a play for world domination.

This article begins by saying essentially the same hing about the media and art, whose expressions and communication of a singular perspective are now commonly mistook and accepted as a truth. These representations and opinions have as
Devin Sandoz’s article on simulation and simulacra suggests become the reality of things

As occupants of the culture industry however what does this mean for us, as artists or observers? I sincerely believe modern society raises the individual with a post-modern awareness of media slant and representation. Children now grow up hearing words like bias, editing, representation and role models and slogans ‘like it’s the medias fault’. We now grow up constantly aware of different angles, Specifically in this country where we now consider political correctness a rampant and destructive force, surely that too simply raises awareness of the simulations, the represented simulacra’s we become accustomed to and challenges us not to be swayed by them.

I think hyper-reality is becoming an outdated concept in a world were we are aware on them, we now chose identity like a cereal and after a few forays into fashion fads as teenager we come into our twenties with an awareness with how constructed these things are. The artificial simulation which dominate todays youth I think now lead to a more objective young adult a few years down the line. I chuckle to myself when thinking of the punk rock 16 yr old me with dyed hair and piercing, and I think this is a symptom of social cultural simulations that all young people now go through, an awareness of the fraud of youth culture.

I could perhaps myself being overly optimistic about contemporary awareness of the semiology and fashions of modern conditions having studied media now for almost ten years. However I don’t think so we’re now getting to the point where we have tv shows about tv shows, such as making of, etc. there is no more illusion to media and art, because we’re aware of the viral nature of marketing and franchising. I think now we’re just happy to accept these things and take them at face value rather than being swayed by the deeper meanings.

But maybe its just me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

