Dahn V&A Visit

As I wander into the exhibition I am swarmed with ideas of how to apply Daan Roosegaarde’s “Dune” into the real world. I could imagine in lining paths and helping to conserve energy as people walked along a path in a garden. The piece that intrigued me the most, however, was C.E.B. Reas’ “TI”. It reminded me of the kaleidoscopes I used to play with as a child. I could spend hours staring out a window constantly turning one against my eye while the fractal images caught the light.

Save the reference to my childhood, what peaked my interest most about this piece was its sheer abstract approach. Outside of the math world, I have not seen fractal images used to represent anything, and yet Reas’ main focus as an artist is to define processes and give them a visual representation.

For me, this was a fascinating example of how art has expanded to a wider audience over the years thanks to technology. Technology has allowed exhibitions such as Decode to occur. It has opened up art to a wider range of audiences, as well as applications. It has created a new participatory culture, and by doing so, a new art genre.

These visual art pieces shown in this exhibition are statements that art in this new participatory culture will shape how we look at things and how things are made and applied in the future.

http://www.vam.ac.uk/microsites/decode/exhibition/interactivity

This entry was posted in tp0910 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

