Globalisation as Artist Theory

The idea of ‘globalisation‘ as a theory to support and critique a practitioners artwork revolves around the idea of cultural, idealogical and of course geographical change based around the focused media used as expression – on a large environmental scale approach encompassing the world.

As a lifelong resident of London, the idea of geographical change is not exactly on a ‘global’ scale, but as Paula said there is ‘glocalisation‘ which covers my perception and experience in this area;

“where people have global and local perspectives at the same time. Glocalised folks zoom in and out. They have tremendous global awareness and insightful local knowledge.” – Seshadri, V.

Although not specifically showing awareness of global and insightful local knowledge, I have tried to extend this in the past and I try [in this post] to demonstrate this understanding.

My own artwork practice is based from my cultural upbringing in London, although my travels have lead me to other globally different locations such as Jerusalem, Israel to produce a short film focusing on the aesthetics and architectural design that I feel is a unique attribution to the cultural landscape on both visual and spiritual levels. On a personal level, this work is my own interpretation of what I see to be a rich cultural ground for development in many areas of media – whilst the information transferral to the audience is also an integral element.

By adapting my approach to the mindset of how a resident might overlook certain aspects of their hometown, my own viewpoint and focus comes in at a different angle of understanding.

By spending up to two months at a time in my own accommodation I have experienced the life of Jerusalem as a basis for residency, as I wish to extend this in the future.

With my upcoming work I aim to stay in theme of my glocality, using geographical mapping of my revisitation photography to contextualise and add quantitative data to otherwise qualitative research experiences. I feel that by adding this underlying and contextualising data informs the viewer as to where the artwork as taken place, and possibly communicating with them further if the locations are known to them.

View Project CrashBack and the Crash Site Map.

About Dave Itzy

Digital media producer working with contemporary photography and video production.
This entry was posted in tp1112. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

